2 blocks late…

Obama is coming to town!

I’m not overly political, but when I heard the announcement on the radio today, my interest was piqued. It’s a free rally, one just needs to run downtown and pick up the free tickets.

Queen Bee and I wavered on whether or not we’d have the time to go down, wait in line, grab our tickets, and get back to work. We originally decided no, but then found out that the line moved REALLY quickly, so no one had to wait for very long.

Knowing this, we both decided simultaneously to make a break for it. Queen Bee and I work on different sides of town, but we figured we’d meet, wait  in line together, grab our tickets, and hang out a bit.

Combine the hoards of Obama-backers gathering near the campaign office, the street repainting, and the 80+ degree day today, and it’s no surprise that downtown was completely insane. So, when I found a parking spot a mere 3 blocks from Obama’s campaign office, I scooted right in. I did my best to ignore the pain my 2.5 inch heels were inflicting on the balls of my feet, and just tried to trippity-trap my way down Main Street as quickly as I could bear.

When I got to the office, I was approximately the 5th or 6th person to be turned away–a mere minute (or two blocks) late.

Queen Bee, who’d arrived about 2 minutes before I did, was able to procure tickets for herself and her husband.

Personally, I’m blaming the shoes.

1 Comment

  1. flemmily said,

    May 19, 2008 at 12:09 pm

    I’ve now missed two other opportunites to get Obama tickets. I think the universe is just telling me it’s not where I’m meant to be. So, instead, I’ll go to the gym and watch the recap on the news!


Leave a Reply

