Shower Songs

It was a Sunday, so I decided to sing church music.

Unfortunately, I only know a verse and a half of “You Are Mine”.

“Do not be afraid, I am with you/ I have called you each by name/ Come and follow me/ I will bring you home/ I love you and you are mine/”  This was followed by a verse or two of “Do do doo do do, do do doo do…..do do dooo do do d d do dooooo….”

On the whole, nothing is wrong with singing in the shower. However, I occasionally forget that there are other individuals in the vicinity…and some of them might be able to hear me. On this particular day, I was not singing in my own shower, but rather the far nicer guest shower at my Uncles’ house.

It really is a magnificent shower, beautifully tiled with a waterfall shower head. Their entire house is gorgeous, as Dan is an amazing designer. He owns a home decor store, and while in the past I only purchased handbags there, my recent home purchase suddenly opened my eyes. Now I’m in love with the store.

While I was hymn-ing it up, Steve and Dan were chatting in the hallway. Apparently Dan sang along for a few bars, then pointed out to Steve that we probably wouldn’t be heading out shopping for a while. “Flemmily’s not going to be ready anytime soon,” I can imagine him saying, shaking his head ruefully. (In reality he was probably shaking with laughter.)

I remained oblivious to this entire conversation until later on that evening, when surrounded by the entire family, I commented on how much I liked the uncles’ guest shower.

Dan perked right up. “I noticed! I heard you singing away in the morning.”

A little embarassed, I laughed it off. But this lead into a discussion about what songs I sing in the shower.

“Well, today I was singing ‘You are Mine’, because it’s Sunday”, I explained.

Dan nodded. “Do you have a different song for every day of the week.”

I thought about it…”No, I really only sing three or four others. I have a pretty limited repertiore.”

I listed off my other performance pieces, and my family members became more and more amused by my choices. It probably didn’t help that in order to remember the names of the songs, I had to sing my way through them until I got to the title mention.

So instead of just saying “Feeling Good” (the Micheal Buble rendition), I had to sing my way through “It’s a new dawn, it’s a new day, it’s a new li–i–fe for me…..and I’m Feeeeling goooood…. dah dah, boom dah dah.”

2. “Both Sides Now” by Joni Mitchell was “Bows and Flows of Angel hair/ and Ice Cream castles in the air, and feather **voice crack** canyons everywhere, I’ve looked at clouds that way…./ I’ve looked at clouds from BOTH SIDES NOW…that’s it! That’s what it’s called.”

3. “You were mine” by the Dixie Chicks (not to be confused with the previously mentioned “You Are Mine”—-they’re very different), I didn’t even dare to sing outloud. Instead I just hummed quietly, directing music with my left pointer finger.

My Sister figured out “What Might Have Been” by Little Texas before I was even three lines in.

By the time I got to Little Texas, the whole room was in stitches. I didn’t even have the heart to tell them that the other song I sometimes sing is “I’m in Love with a Big Blue Frog” by Peter, Paul, and Mary. That would have just pushed them over the edge.

My uncles and my mom have suggested a few other songs that might be more shower appropriate.

“I’m Gonna Wash that Man Right Out of My Hair”, “It’s Raining Men”, “Singing in the Rain” were the most popular suggestions.

Perhaps it’s time to make a new playlist on my Ipod. Do you have any other suggestions for my shower songs lineup? I’m open to suggestions from the peanut gallery.

And according to my family, I cannot be trusted to pick my own shower tunes.

Leave a Reply

