And if you think I haven’t written in a while, just wait til you find out how long it’s been since I went to the gym!!

So…I’m a wee bit behind on blogging.

I’m sure you’ve missed me. My blog stats say that 4 people viewed the blog in the last month, so to all four of you, I apologize for my lack of original content.

But…actually, I’m pretty sure I checked my blog at least twice to make sure it still existed, so maybe I only need to apologize to two people. I mean, seriously, my mom doesn’t even read my blog.

Ironically, I haven’t been writing, because, well, I’ve been writing! A few, erm, MONTHS ago, I wrote about attending a local SCBWI (Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators) conference. It was a BLAST. I loved it, and felt instantly at home.

And, ever since then, I’ve been working on a middle grade novel. For added fun, it’s actually going pretty well! I’m up over the 80 page mark (amazing), I have a weekly critique group that’s willing to check my progress and give feedback (fantastic), and I’m attending another SCBWI conference in a few weeks!

But, before I head out to New York for more SCBWI excitement, I have a goal.

An unreachable goal, but a goal nonetheless.

I want to finish the manuscript.

I say this is an unreachable goal, because it probably is. The longer my manuscript gets, the more work I seem to have to do.

Now, conference success does not depend (at all) on me completing the draft. I’ve been reading the SCBWI discussion boards, and this is not the kind of conference where you walk in with copies of a novel and walk out with a book deal. However, if I do manage to make any connections at the conference, I’d like to be able to make good on them in a timely manner…thus, I type away, edit away, and harrass all my friends and loved ones for opinions on my first book.

And, I don’t blog.

But rest easy, dear reader(s) (I’ll admit, there’s probably only one of you), for I will be blogging more and more. Mostly because this blog does exactly what it’s supposed to do…it gets me writing.

And, judging by my extremely sore biceps and thighs, if I can make time for the gym, I can make time for the blog. 🙂

Leave a Reply

