The Best Blisters this side of Broadway!

After the SCBWI festivities finished up, I left to meet a couple of my good friends for brunch up near Central Park.

I have to say this for NYC–I felt incredibly safe on the city streets. I thouroughly enjoyed the walk from the Grand Hyatt to Central Park. Having lived in Seattle for 4 years, I appreciate the city culture and city feel.

And NYC has something that Seattle does not…or rather, NYC does NOT have something that Seattle has in abundance.

Hills.

In comparison, New York is a cakewalk! All my time in Seattle I had to deal with the fact that every adventure would leave me (at one point or another) at the bottom of a very very steep hill. In New York, no such thing! You can walk for days.

Well, almost.

I’m not always so smart about shoes (if you’ve read about/seen me in my ballet flats in ankle deep snow, you’ll already know that). In New York, my problem wasn’t so much that I’d choosen poor footware, it was mostly that I had chosen NEW footware. Yeah. Good plan.

The walk to the restaurant was just fine. Brunch was great (Landmark in the Time Warner building…yummy!) And the walk home was mostly fine. Like I said–I felt really safe on the streets. However, the streets themselves, well, maybe I should have been more wary of the concrete.

Those last few blocks, I began noticing that my feet hurt. A very specific part of my feet hurt. A very important part of my feet hurt.

The second I made it back to the hotel room I peeled off my getting-to-be-rather-uncomfortable shoes and saw two HUGE blisters, each about the size of a half-dollar coin, smack dab on the balls of my feet.

Seriously! What do you do about that? It’s not as though you can just change shoes and suddenly be okay!

For added fun, I had to immediately head out to a Broadway play with my mom and sister. Rather pathetically, we wound up taking the subway all of six blocks to get to Times Square for Mary Poppins. I tried, but I couldn’t make it any farther.

And the next day, things just kept getting worse.

We didn’t have to walk too far in the Newark airport, but when we made it to Denver, we had a little bit of a jaunt. Luckily we also had a couple hours to make the jaunt, because I was walking around like a little ‘ol granny. I had to walk on the heels of my feet (for obvious reasons), but that doesn’t really count as ‘walking’. It’s really more ‘hobbling’.

Then, shining like light from the heavens above, something caught my eye.

The colorful plastic goodness of a Crocs kiosk.

I have to admit, I’m not the biggest fan of plastic shoes, but these particular ones were LIFESAVERS. They have these things we call Fuzzy Crocs. They’re really like a cross between normal crocs and Uggs. While neither one looks particularly attractive on it’s own, the two together are magical!

Well, magical if you have blisters the size of walnuts on either foot.

Armed (or shod, rather) with my latest purchase, I managed to make the last leg of my journey in relative comfort.

So I thank you, dear Crocs.

You made me a believer.

2 Comments

  1. Claudette g said,

    February 12, 2009 at 2:58 pm

    Good you got lucky and founded those crocs

  2. February 13, 2009 at 7:47 pm

    I love this post! And I love that it served as a Crocs endorsement… JP would be pretty dang happy.


Leave a Reply

