You can’t say we didn’t warn you…

For the Mardi Gras party at my house, it all started with Queen Bee’s salad. The dressing she brought along is fantastic!

But why is there a peach on the label?

Turns out truth in advertising does exist!

But it sounds like the label must be confusing to some in the world. You probably can’t read it, but on the sticker towards the top it says “Delicious on Fresh Peaches: Does not contain Peaches”.

I waver back and forth on whether or not this is funny. It’s poppy seed dressing. I wouldn’t really expect it to contain peaches, but the label is a peach, which throws me.

In the end, I think it’s funny.  Regardless, many peach jokes were made throughout the evening.

But the joy of full disclosure didn’t end there.

The rest of it started out pretty innocently, with a King Cake.

Pretty, eh?

Pretty, eh?

The king cake is a pretty traditional thing to have at Mardi Gras. It’s quite tasty, covered with green, yellow, and purple sugar, and has a filling throughout. Ours was half raspberry, half cream cheese.

But that’s not the only thing in the cake:

"Does that say what I think it says?"

"Does that say what I think it says?"

Yep. That’s what it says. Here’s a closer look.

caption-alone

So, this in itself is also pretty traditional. King cakes have plastic babies stuck into them. So I shouldn’t be suprised that the cake has a baby in it. But there’s just something about the frankness of the statement, the somewhat creepy, serial-killer-handwriting, and the legally-binding-disclosure phrasing that absolutely Cracks. Me. Up.

I almost died, I laughed so hard. I photographed it from every angle. I texted photos to my family members.

And I did a little research…

Apparently if you get the baby in your piece of cake, then you’re king for the evening, you’ll have good luck all year, AND (most importanly)…

YOU get to host the next party!

So, I cut the cake VERY carefully, not wanting to dismember the Christ child….

We examined our pieces VERY carefully…..

We took small bites and chewed VERY carefully…..

Care to guess who got the baby?

Awww....it's baby Jesus! In a cake...

Awww....it's baby Jesus! In a cake...

Yeah. Me. That’s my fork.

It’s a good thing that I’m such an awesome hostess. I think the next party should have a full disclosure theme, full of obvious statements. Maybe we can do it for Queen Bee’s birthday.

On the door: “You are entering a party. Proceed with caution.”

On the punch bowl: “This bowl contains liquids. Said liquids might be alcoholic.”

On the birthday girl: “This is Queen Bee. She is 25 years old.”

On the salad bowl: “The dressing does not contain peaches. However, the dressing IS delicious on fresh peaches. There are no peaches at this party, unless you have peaches on your person.”

And, on the cake, perfectly scripted in pink icing: “This cake contains a plastic baby.”

I think from this point on, all cakes should contain a plastic baby.

Just to keep it consistent.

2 Comments

  1. Queen Bee said,

    February 25, 2009 at 3:06 pm

    I can’t wait for this party! It will be great. That dressing is delicious.

  2. another co-worker said,

    February 26, 2009 at 4:13 pm

    I’ll bring the peaches.


Leave a Reply

