Strangely enough, the snapping noise didn’t give it away.

You’d think it would.

Or the fact that I was crying before I hit the ground.

Even in those few seconds after you hurt yourself, when you’re still taking inventory of your parts, I knew that I was not going to have the day I’d been planning to have.

For starters, I wasn’t even going to make it to the office.

Now, to the passers-by who stopped to help, it looked as though my right knee had taken the brunt of my fall. But it didn’t.

My left ankle did.

And, knowing all this, as I did, you think I’d have guessed that said ankle might be broken. Snapping noise. Sudden pain. Crying. The “oh sh**” moment when you know all plans are currently on hold.

But for me, on that Thursday morning, I first thought it might be broken when I finally got back to my feet and put a little weight on it.

And felt nothing.

It wasn’t numb, exactly, and it wasn’t painful. It just felt weird. Disconnected from my body, nearly. And then I turned it a little, at which point it took my breath away.

Now, when I sprained my ankle in college, it did not feel like this. That hurt. It burned constantly. It screamed “Do not touch me!”

This ankle injury said. “Huh. That’s weird. Bad weird.”

A trip to the ER confirmed it. Broken ankle.

But more about that later.

For now, this is what I get to look at.

Best timed pedicure of my life, though!

Leave a Reply

